Listen to David’s music

1. David’s Albums

2. Soundtracks

  • Follow Me Home

    • My first soundtrack | By David Ianni


      This article originally appeared on David’s blog in March 2013.

      So I wrote my first soundtrack. Somewhat out of the blue. My friend Vitùc asked me if I would like to compose the music for his new film project, a documentary about homeless people in Luxembourg, commissioned by Stëmm vun der Strooss. After seeing the first scene I knew that I wanted to do it.

      I was lucky enough that cellist Lisa Berg agreed to participate in this volunteer project, which allowed me to write for piano and cello. The additional color of the cello enriches the score in many wonderful ways.

      I had a simple, yet challenging concept in mind: I wanted to compose with reduced, concentrated means, using only a few musical themes. The harmonies should be straightforward, yet surprising and unusual. I wanted my music to add some light, hope and warmth to the sad stories of the people portrayed in the film.

      During our work on the project, Vitùc sent me a recording of a composition by his 11-year-old daughter Elena, called “With Hope”. I was so touched by the melody and the harmonies that I decided to rework and include this piece in my soundtrack.

      My thanks go to Vitùc and his co-director Marc Hammer for their trust in me (I was given complete artistic freedom in all of my choices!), to Christophe Hubert and Patrick Floener for recording and editing the music, and of course to Lisa Berg for her beautiful cello playing. I would also like to thank the association “Stëmm vun der Strooss” for initiating this very special project.

      Last but not least, my heartfelt gratitude goes out to the homeless persons who granted us a glimpse into their homes and into their souls for this documentary. I dedicate my soundtrack to all of you.

      David Ianni, March 2013

    • Listen

    • Watch


3. Other composers

  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847)

  • Richard Rice (*1962)


    In 2011, David played the world premiere of Richard Rice’s Piano Sonata, a masterpiece of classical contemporary music. For more information about the composer, please visit Richard’s website. David wrote a blog post after the premiere, which you can read here.

  • Ewan Clark (*1981)


    In the Woods, a beautiful piano piece by Ewan Clark, was recorded in December 2014 and is available on iTunes. You can read a blog post about this music here.

For more music please visit:

Or listen on Spotify: